How Many Times Can You Take The SIE Exam

taking sie exam

Many people wonder how many times they can take the Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Exam, which is a requirement for pursuing a career in the securities industry. This exam, administered by the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA), is a prerequisite for other securities industry exams.

So how many times can you take the SIE Exam? Learn more as we will explore the rules and regulations regarding how many times a person can take the SIE Exam.


The Purpose Of The SIE Exam

First, it is important to understand the purpose of the SIE Exam. This exam is designed to test the basic knowledge of individuals who are interested in working in the securities industry. The exam includes questions related to regulatory agencies, products, concepts, and the structure of the securities industry.

If you want to obtain a license to sell securities or advise clients on investments, you must pass the SIE Exam.


The Procedure For Taking The SIE Exam

To take the SIE Exam, individuals should book an appointment with an authorized FINRA testing center. There is a fee for the exam, which can be paid by either the candidate or their employer. The exam consists of 75 multiple-choice questions, and the candidate is given two and a half hours to complete it.

A passing score of 70% is necessary to pass the exam, and candidates are notified immediately of their results.


Things Allowed During The Exam Proper

In the FINRA examination room, there are specific rules that must be followed. Only pens or pencils provided by the testing center are allowed during the test, as it is computer-based. Any other materials such as books, paper, calculators, and electronic devices must be kept in a locker.


Available Study Materials


You can bring your own study materials, such as books, notes, and practice questions, to the exam room. Additionally, the FINRA website provides pre-exam tutorials, practice tests, and sample questions for additional study material.

Additionally, there are many private companies that offer preparation courses for the SIE Exam to help candidates prepare for the exam. You can also get an SIE Exam tutor who can give you personalized guidance in order to help you understand the material better.


How Many Times You Can Take The SIE Exam

If a candidate fails the SIE Exam, they must wait for 30 days before they can retake it. This waiting period is designed to give candidates enough time to prepare for the exam. Within a 180-day timeframe, candidates may take the exam up to three times.

In addition, if the candidate does not pass the exam within this time frame after attempting it for the third time, they are required to wait an extra 180 days before they can take the exam again.

Please keep in mind that the fee for retaking the exam is equal to the fee for the initial exam. Every time a candidate takes the exam, they must pay the fee again. This implies that if a candidate does not pass the exam within 180 days after failing it three times, they will have paid the exam fee three times but will still not have achieved a passing score.



It is essential to remember that once you pass the SIE Exam, its validity lasts for four years. After that time, you will need to retake the exam if you want to continue working in the securities industry. However, passing a qualification exam during those four years will extend the validity of the SIE Exam for an additional four years from the date you pass the qualification exam.

Apart from the previously mentioned rules, there may be further limitations imposed by FINRA on retaking the SIE Exam. If a candidate is facing disciplinary action or is being investigated by FINRA, he or she may be prohibited from retaking the SIE Exam until the issue is resolved.

After passing SIE Exam, individuals need to take additional qualification exams that are to their roles in the securities industry. These exams the Series 6, Series 7 Series 63, Series 65, Series 66 exams; each one has its own passing scores and requirements.


In conclusion, individuals who want to work in the securities industry must pass the Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Exam. Candidates may take the exam up to three times within a 180-day period.

If a candidate does not pass the exam within a certain period after three attempts, they must wait 180 days before trying again. The license acquired from passing the SIE Exam is valid for four years, but candidates must pass it again in order to maintain the license.

And candidates must thoroughly grasp the exam’s rules and regulations to prevent any unnecessary expenses and delays in acquiring a license. This is of utmost importance.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


32 − 29 =